NEMPF competition successes for Ian Stanyon & Kate Brown

NEMPF Annual Competition

NEMPF is the acronymn for North & East Midlands Photographic Federation. C&HVPS is a member of NEMPF

This year C&HVPS members were invited to submit entries for NEMPF’s 2018 exhibition. To have an image or panel of images accepted for the NEMPF annual competition, the quality of the image or panel of images has to be exceptionally high.

A number of our members submitted prints or panels but with the exception of Kate Brown & Ian Stanyon all entries were rejected as not reaching the highest of standards, as space to exhibit the competition prints and panels is limited. When you visit NEMPF’s website  you’ll see that Kate’s outstanding print of the Museum of Liverpool (shown above) met the high standards required for the annual competition.

But there’s more – Ian Stanyon’s panel of four prints received a high accolade, as Ian’s panel of  images was awarded a Commendation

Since Ian joined our photographic society we’ve seen how dedicated Ian is to improving the standard of his photography. We’ve also seen how judges in our annual competitions have held Ian’s work in such high regard. A number of members of C&HVPS have achieved distinctions in the field of photography, as one of a number of examples I instance Keith Brown FRPS FIPF EFIAP MPAGB APAGB and Kate Brown LRPS DPAGB. Mark my words, it won’t be long before Ian Stanyon joins our distinguished list of members who’ve been awarded accolades by various photographic bodies.

Click onto the link below to see the competition images and the results:

Ian’s panel, in monochrome, entitled ‘le Parcours’ is shown below.














Synopsis of November 9th meeting

Our Chair, Ann welcomed everyone and made the following announcements:

  • Please email your selected YearBook image to Roger Moore or Ian Ord as soon as possible. The image should be uncompressed, and have been taken during 2017.
  • The 2017 Christmas Meal will be at The Old Hall on 14th December. Menu choices plus cheque to Erica ASAP!
  • Ian Stanyon will once again prepare a Christmas Tree for Castleton’s Church

Beat the Clock: Axle Chatburn, Jannis Ibbotson, Shelia Reynolds & Barbara Wilkinson, Ray Fowler, Kate Brown, Paul Hatt and Steve Elliott each contributed a selection of beautiful images under the 10 minutes Beat the Clock rules. Great fun and good to see so many fine images from our members.

2017 Competition During the break Ann read out the names of those who’d been successful in our 2017 Competition, with President Ray Fowler presenting the certificates (with the exception that Ann presented Ray with his Certificate). Many thanks to Ray, for once again preparing and printing the certificates.

2017 Competition & Prizes results

General Section

First Prize ‘Plus’ the Catherine Trophy (best colour print) – Steve Elliott – Big Red Riding Hood

Second – Ian Ord – Gotcha


Third Prize – Steve Elliott – Sunset Over Winding Road


Commended: Robert Nicklin – Pink on Black, Pat Fowler – It’s Magic, Steve Elliott – First Light


Nick Chalkely – Where does this one go,                                                                                                   Ian Stanyon – Urban Gymnast










Denis Thorpe Award (Best Monochrome print) – Nick Chalkley – Orchid Mantis Gaze

Small print section (75 square cms)

First Prize –David Allwood – Nuthatch

Second Prize – Ian Stanyon – Walk the Line

Third Prize – Ann Smith – Earl Grey’s Door handle

Commended – small prints

Kieth Brown – Are we ready to go?, Ray Fowler – Big, Black & Beautiful, Nick Chalkley – Hello Cheeky

(Note – Axel Chatburn & Paul Hatt were awarded with certificates of commendations for their Small Print entries. But these prints weren’t in digital format and can’t be shown in this web post)